---
title: "Configuration - Edit"
canonical: "https://servicedesk.maxgeo.com/space/LogChief/1276477442/Configuration%20-%20Edit"
format: markdown
---
<span style="color: #ff0000">*Editing your Configuration will delete your logged data. The data will only be erased if you complete the Edit Configuration Wizard and click 'Save' at the edit.*</span>

<span style="color: #ff0000">*If your Configuration Database is acting as the main Database this will mean losing all data logged in the Database! Because of this, we recommend mak ing no modifications to the Configuration.*</span>

If a Configuration has been created you can edit the Configuration, provided you still have access to the original MDS (maxgeo Data Schema) database or another database to which you want to synchronize data. To perform this function, the user will need to be part of the 'Administrators' group and have SQL Admin rights to the linked MDS.

**Select Configuration**

Click on the 'My Config(s)' button on the main screen (in the image below, the button is on the left panel) then select the Configuration you want to edit.

**Edit the Configuration**

Once the Configuration you want to edit is open, click on the menu items in the image below.

![image](media://0215e3a2-6978-4451-8d82-626c2491c01d)

**Edit Configuration Wizard**

The 'Edit Configuration Wizard' is the same as the 'New Configuration' Wizard with the previously set Configuration values loaded. Proceed through the Wizard to make any changes to the Configuration you need. For a detailed description of each step in the Configuration Wizard, please refer to the <span style="color: #000000">[New Configuration ](https://maxgeo.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/LogChief/pages/1275330616)</span><span style="color: #000000">Section of this User Guide.</span>

If your MDS (maxgeo Data Schema) database changes and you wish to update the Configuration data with the new MDS schema, you can edit the Configuration here. This schema always loads the MDS schema information on the fly so it's always up to date.

After editing the Configuration, the Profiles will be made inactive. To reactivate them, you will need to edit each Profile to accommodate any changes to the configuration (See<span style="color: #0000ff"> </span><u>Edit Profile </u>topic).